Today, Ohio junior Senator Rob Portman (R) was asked about the recent barrage of attacks on Mitt Romney’s career at Bain Capital.  Portman was quoted as saying, “My feeling’s pretty simple.. that is capitalism. There aren’t different kinds of capitalism, There’s the free market,” he said, adding, “Yeah there were some businesses that weren’t in great shape when Bain got involved in them.”

Now Portman is considered a leading (if not THE leading) candidate to be chosen as Mitt Romney’s running mate this November.  Portman, who was the Director of the Office of Management and Budget under President George W. Bush, was asked about the vice presidency.

Portman, on the VP buzz, said “I think I’m better suited to stay where I am in the Senate,” he said. “I just got elected as you know, and the folks in Ohio expect me to stick around and do my job.”

Portman didn’t deny the speculation and in fact, his comments will probably add to the rumors.  He didn’t deny the rumors at all and instead said what the people of Ohio thinks he should do.

Keep tabs on this.

