Tags


Former Florida Governor Jeb Bush defused speculation about him joining the Romney ticket today.  Bush said that he hasn’t been vetted by the Romney campaign and said that fellow Floridian Republican Marco Rubio is his choice to be it.

Even though this time of year is wrought for candidates to play coy, I have to believe Bush is telling the truth here (shocking statement to write).  Jeb Bush is too big of a name to be second-fiddle and I have to believe he’s looking at 2016.

Bush also rebuked Grover Norquist’s offer to sign a pledge to not raise taxes.

“I ran for office three times. The pledge was presented to me three times. I never signed the pledge. I cut taxes every year I was governor,” he said. “I don’t believe you outsource your principles and convictions to people. I respect Grover’s political involvement. He has it every right to do it, but I never signed any pledge.”

Interesting that Bush is straying away from Norquist, the head honcho of Americans For Tax Reform.  Looks like Bush is either fundamentally opposed to pledges or is trying to appeal to independent/moderate voters.  Stay tuned.

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/06/01/jeb-bush-vp-candidate-vice-president_n_1563057.html

